I had one more day here before hopping on the Rajdhani Express to Mumbai.

alkauser.jpg 

Vini and I ate at Al Kauzer, a joint he likes and one which was also suggested by a friend of my friend Ash. 

kebabs.jpg 

Oh yeah.  Effing great.  I’d forgotten Vini’s warning that the Kakori kebab can’t be picked up.  It’s so soft (creamy is not the right word) that it falls apart if you try to lift it.  Instead, it has to be rolled onto your plate.   Next to it are some Galauti kebabs, excellent as well, though the ergonomics of the the Kakori appealed to me more.  The other interesting thing about this meal was the strong flavor of dill in the chutney.  I know dill is used here, but only rarely I think, so if indeed there was dill in the chutney it would strike me as somewhat unique. 

vini.jpg

Vini deserves a photograph, too.  I’ve discovered that he’s quite a foodie himself, though his passion remains with the travel industry.  Sadly, I owe him a great deal of money so we probably won’t be seeing each other much anymore.  😉 

Before leaving for Mumbai I decided to pack it in  (meaning, pack food in my pie hole).  Ash’s friend also suggested Chaina Ram and Giani Ice Cream in Fatehpur Chowk, a lane at the opposite end of the Red Fort down Chandni Chowk.  My appetizer before breakfast was a refreshing glass of Rabri Falooda–ice cold noodles and soft nuts in a rich bath of cardamom scented thick, sweet milk.

giani.jpg

At Chaina Ram, a sweets shop, I breakfasted on potato-chickpea curry with puris and a fat, fresh hunk of spicy carrot pickle. 

chainaram.jpg

The breakfast was similar to the one I posted below at Kanha Sweets in Amritsar, but no, not the same.  The chickpeas were spiced differently (with less fenugreek leaf) and the yummy bit of pickle added a layer of flavor to the dish.  (Desis get the pickle in their chickpeas;  mine was served on the side, always thoughtful, if unnecessary in my case.) 

Then, after some respite beneath a fan, I went back to Bengali market for some Gol Gappe. 

golgappa.jpg 

golkapani.jpg 

In my earlier post I asked if I was confused about Natthu’s Sweets serving chaat and it turns out, I was.  In Bengali Market, which is really not big enough to account for my ignorance, there are TWO divisions of the company.  I had only found the pastry shop.  A few doors down is their restaurant.  So, when I return I will have to try again to eat there.  On the other hand, I *did* enjoy these Gol Gappe from their neighbor across the street. 

But why stop eating after three snacks?  It’s Delhi after all. 

Vini and I walked a short block to South Indian Snacks Centre on Jantar Mantar Road. 

snackcentre.jpg

The thing is, Vini illustrated for me here, there’s good food just about everywhere you go, and it’s certainly not limited to full service establishments.  This is a small crowd, says Vini.   And here’s my Mysore Masala Dosa, a dosa first layered with chutney before the potato filling is added. 

mysoredosa.jpg 

Super. 

Since I hadn’t eaten enough Vini bought us a dal vada, a lentil fritter/cake, to split on the way back. 

dalvada.jpg

Maybe a little dry to my taste, but with good ginger flavor. A short while later I boarded my train on which were served the following courses:  snack, soup, dinner and breakfast.  No, I didn’t.  I couldn’t.

