banglsb1.jpg

From my back window at my guest house I can see Bangla Sahib Gurudwara, a Sikh temple. Throughout the day and night, I can listen to the rhythms of hymns and sermons as they are broadcast around the temple.

bnglsahib2.jpg

Every Sikh temple is required to have a kitchen. From there, they prepare and distribute food freely to any who come–regardless of race or religion, to the rich and poor, all are welcome.

bnglangar2.jpg

The amount of food they prepare daily is staggering. It might be hard to gauge just how big these pots are, but the one up front, for instance, could easily seat two people!

bnglangar3.jpg

Making chapatis.

bnglangar1.jpg

Unfortunately, I didn’t eat today because of mild stomach upset and a reservation at Dum Pukht. Next time I visit I will eat, I hope.

